Festive bin collections

View the table below for revised collection dates during the festive period.

Unless adverse weather affects bin rounds, collections should return to normal from Monday 13 January 2020.

Normal collection date Revised collection date
Monday 23 December Monday 23 December
Tuesday 24 December Tuesday 24 December
Wednesday 25 December Friday 27 December
Thursday 26 December Saturday 28 December
Friday 27 December Monday 30 December
Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December
Tuesday 31 December Thursday 2 January
Wednesday 1 January Friday 3 January
Thursday 2 January Saturday 4 January
Friday 3 January Monday 6 January
Monday 6 January Tuesday 7 January
Tuesday 7 January Wednesday 8 January
Wednesday 8 January Thursday 9 January
Thursday 9 January Friday 10 January
Friday 10 January Saturday 11 January

Christmas can mean extra rubbish, for example wrapping paper can't be recycled. Therefore, extra sacks will only be collected for the FIRST COLLECTION after Christmas.

For more information about bin collections see www.basingstoke.gov.uk/bins or call 01256 844844.

Top tips to help you recycle more this Christmas

  • Leave large flattened cardboard next to your recycling bin for collection.
  • Recycle all your tins, cans and plastic bottles. Please place all other plastics in your grey bin.
  • We can't recycle your wrapping paper but please put all your other paper and card in your green bin.
  • Take extra glass to a glass recycling bank or save for next collection. Please do not overfill your glass box.

Contact us

  • Contact us online
  • 01256 844844
  • Civic Offices
    London Road
    Basingstoke
    RG21 4AH
  • Opening hours
    Monday to Thursday
    8.30am to 5pm
    Fridays
    8.30am to 4.30pm
Give us feedback