History of the Mayor

The word Mayor and Major derives from the Latin word Magnus meaning great. The Office of Mayor, together with the Doomsday Book and the feudal system were brought to this country by the Normans. The Office of Mayor had existed on the continent at least since the fifth century. The first English Mayor was the Mayor of London appointed in 1189 by Richard 1.

The first Basingstoke Mayor, George Baynard, was appointed in 1641. In 1974 Basingstoke became a District Council and had a Chairman and not a Mayor, but then in 1978 Basingstoke and Deane became a borough and once again had a Mayor.

Mayors since 1990/91

List of Mayors since 1990

Term Mayor
2022/23 Paul Miller
2021/22 Onnalee Cubitt
2020/21 Diane Taylor (2nd Term)
2019/20 Diane Taylor
2018/19 Sean Keating
2017/18 Paul Frankum
2016/17 Jane Frankum
2015/16 Anne Court
2014/15 Roger Gardiner
2013/14 Dan Putty
2012/13 Martin Biermann
2011/12 David Leeks
2010/11 Keith Chapman (2nd Term)
2009/10 Brian Gurden
2008/09 George Hood
2007/08 Warwick Lovegrove
2006/07 Tony Jones
2005/06 Paula Baker
2004/05 Gweneth Richardson
2003/04 Gerald Traynor
2002/03 Rita Burgess
2001/02 Rose Gladys Wellman
2000/01 Marilyn Tucker
1999/00 Lynden Jones
1998/99 Derick Mirfin
1997/98 Roger Vernon Charles Morris
1996/97 Laurence Thomas Garland
1995/96 John William Greenwood
1994/95 John Leonard Shears
1993/94 Keith James Brant
1992/93 Keith George Chapman
1991/92 Robert Alfred O’Bee
1990/91 Christopher Beresford Evans

Mayors prior to 1989/90

For details of all Mayors since the Town of Basingstoke first had a Mayor in 1641, please see the document below.

PDF document Previous Mayors to 1989/90(PDF) [290 kb]

Contact details

Mayoral Events Coordinator

Sign up for email updates

Receive information on council services, news and events by email.

© 2023 Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council