Press releases

news and media header 120

Christmas recycling all wrapped up

News release 8359, published on 26 Nov 2018
'Tis the season for family and presents – and plenty of extra household waste.


Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council is urging residents to recycle more and try to waste less during this festive season.


There is no limit to how much you can recycle. Any extra recycling can be put in clear sacks which are available from larger supermarkets and homeware stores. Leave clear sacks and large, flattened cardboard boxes next to your recycling bin.


There are lots of items that can be recycled including cardboard packaging, paper, newspapers and magazines, food tins, drinks cans, aerosols and plastic bottles.


Remember that Christmas wrapping paper cannot be recycled and needs to go into your black waste bin. Try wrapping presents with brown paper instead. It’s recyclable and can look beautiful when decorated.


If you’re unsure about what can and can’t be recycled, visit https://www.basingstoke.gov.uk/recycle or call the council on 01256 844844.


Christmas can mean extra rubbish which can’t be recycled, so extra sacks will be collected for the first collection after Christmas only.


If you’re thinking of getting a real tree, you can recycle it at one of a number of drop off points across the borough between Wednesday 2 January and Sunday 27 January.


For more information visit https://www.basingstoke.gov.uk/christmas-tree


The council’s Cabinet Member for Regulatory Services and the Environment Cllr Hayley Eachus said: “It’s inevitable that extra rubbish will be created over the festive period. I would ask residents to make sure they’re disposing of their waste and recycling correctly so we can enjoy an eco-friendly start to 2019.”


This year bin collections will be affected over two weeks and, unless adverse weather affects bin rounds, collections should return to normal from Monday 14 January 2019.


Normal collection                    Revised collection

Tuesday 25 December               Thursday 27 December

Wednesday 26 December      Friday 28 December

Thursday 27 December           Saturday 29 December

Friday 28 December                Monday 31 December

Monday 31 December               Wednesday 2 January

Tuesday 1 January                     Thursday 3 January

Wednesday 2 January                Friday 4 January

Thursday 3 January                    Saturday 5 January

Friday 4 January                         Monday 7 January

Monday 7 January                    Tuesday 8 January

Tuesday 8 January                    Wednesday 9 January

Wednesday 9 January               Thursday 10 January

Thursday 10 January                    Friday 11 January

Friday 11 January                     Saturday 12 January


Check your bin collection day on the website https://www.basingstoke.gov.uk/bincollections or call 01256 844844.

Contact us

  • Contact us online
  • 01256 844844
  • Civic Offices
    London Road
    Basingstoke
    RG21 4AH
  • Opening hours
    Monday to Thursday
    8.30am to 5pm
    Fridays
    8.30am to 4.30pm