What is a Local Plan

Local Planning Authorities are required to produce a Local Plan which consists of a range of local planning policies, a spatial strategy for the future development of the borough and includes strategic site allocations.

The Basingstoke and Deane Local Plan 2011 – 2029 was adopted at a meeting of Full Council on 26 May 2016. View the Basingstoke and Deane Local Plan 2011 - 2029.

A range of documents have been prepared as part of the Local Plan and these are listed below:

Document title/purpose Webpage Status/progress
Local Development Scheme (LDS) - sets out the timetable for the production of the Local Plan documents. LDS webpage Approved September 2014
Statement of Community Involvement (SCI) - states how and when the council will engage with and consult the local community and stakeholders during the process of developing the Local Plan and on planning applications. SCI webpage Adopted July 2007
Authority Monitoring Report (AMR) - an annual review to monitor the implementation of the LDS and the delivery of the policies and objectives set out in the Local Plan. AMR webpage Current AMR (April 2016 to March 2017)
Evidence Base Studies - a collection of studies and background research which inform the Local Plan. Evidence Base webpage Ongoing
Sustainability Appraisal (SA) - a set of sustainability criteria or tests which measure the degree to which the policies and proposals in the Local Plan impact on economic, social and environmental issues SA webpage Adopted
Supplementary Planning Documents (SPDs) - a set of guidance documents that provide additional details in support of the policies in the Local Plan SPD webpage Currently available
General guidance (e.g. Design and Access Statements, s106 Planning Obligations, Historic Conservation) General planning guidance Currently available

Contact details

Local Plan team

Telephone: 01256 844844

Contact us

  • Contact us online
  • 01256 844844
  • Civic Offices
    London Road
    RG21 4AH
  • Opening hours
    Monday to Thursday
    8.30am to 5pm
    8.30am to 4.30pm