Councillor Code of Conduct

The council has adopted a Code of Conduct that sets out rules governing the behaviour of its councillors.

The Code of Conduct covers areas of individual behaviour such as councillors not abusing their position or not misusing their authority’s resources. In addition, there are rules governing disclosure of interest and withdrawal from meetings where councillors have relevant interests. Councillors are also required to record on the public register their financial and other interests.

In addition, the town and parish councils within the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane have each adopted a Code of Conduct which may be the same as the Council’s Code of Conduct which is based on the model Councillor Code of Conduct developed by the Local Government Association. Copies of the Code of Conduct can be obtained from the relevant Town or Parish Clerk.

The council’s Monitoring Officer is responsible for maintaining the register of interests for Basingstoke and Deane Borough councillors and the town and parish councillors for the Borough of Basingstoke and Deane. The register of interests for each borough, town and parish councillor can be found on the links below. Please select the councillor's name to view their registered interests:

Making a complaint

If you wish to complain that a councillor of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, or a councillor of any town and parish council within the borough, has failed to comply with the appropriate Code of Conduct please provide details below. Ensure a separate form is completed for each councillor you wish to make a complaint against.

Please read the guidance notes below before completing the form.

Your address and contact details will not usually be released unless it is necessary to deal with your complaint.

However, we will tell the following people that you have made this complaint:

  • the Councillor you are complaining about
  • the Parish or Town Clerk (if applicable)
  • Independent Person/Independent Standards Assessor

We will tell them your name and give them a copy of your complaint. We will give them full details of your complaint where necessary or appropriate to be able to deal with it.

Make a complaint about a councillor

If you want to discuss your complaint with the Monitoring Officer, please telephone 01256 845473 or email

Independent standards assessors, independent persons and Parish/Town council representatives

Independent Standards Assessors Independent Persons Parish/Town Council Representatives
Amanda Orchard Alan Harrison Linda Agnew
Amanda Lewis Melvin Kenyon Martin Slatford
Sylvia Goddard Ray Tomkinson Francesca Maritan
Amanda Povey   Ian Elkins

Sign up for email updates

Receive information on council services, news and events by email.

© 2024 Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council