Basingstoke and Deane Electoral Review

The last review of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council wards was completed in October 2007. As a result of population changes, there are now significant imbalances in the number of electors per councillor in some of the borough’s electoral wards. The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has decided that a new review should be carried out with the aim of ensuring that each councillor represents roughly the same number of voters.

In drawing up new boundaries the Commission aims to deliver electoral equality for voters in council elections so that each councillor represents roughly the same number of electors. The review also aims to ensure that the new council wards reflect, as far as possible, the interests and identities of communities across Basingstoke and Deane.

The review formally started at the end of November 2017. However, the Commission has now paused its electoral review of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council.

At its meeting in February 2018, the Commission will consider evidence on the number of councillors who should be elected to the council in future. It will then open a new phase of consultation on ward boundaries and update the timetable for the review accordingly. The Commission has, however, confirmed that new ward boundaries and council size will still come into effect in May 2019.

For further information please go to the Local Government Boundary Commission website at:

Contact us

  • Contact us online
  • 01256 844844
  • Civic Offices
    London Road
    RG21 4AH
  • Opening hours
    Monday to Thursday
    8.30am to 5pm
    8.30am to 4.30pm