Safer North Hampshire

The Community Safety team in Basingstoke and Deane has joined forces with the teams in Hart and Rushmoor and other partnership agencies to form Safer North Hampshire. The teams have been working together since November 2012 to better tackle crime and antisocial behaviour. Safer North Hampshire seeks to pool resources, powers and expertise to provide a complete response to community needs, whilst raising the understanding of community safety issues and improving the quality of life for local people.

For further information about Safer North Hampshire and to contact the team, visit the Safer North Hampshire website

Community Safety Partnership

The 1998 Crime and Disorder Act acknowledges that the causes of crime and disorder are complex and varied and that achieving a reduction in crime and disorder should therefore not be a matter solely for the police. As a result the act established Community Safety Partnerships (CSPs) between the Police, Local Authorities, the Voluntary Sector, local residents and businesses and made them jointly responsible for reducing crime and disorder.

In north Hampshire, one strategic Community Safety Partner has been established to cover Basingstoke and Deane, Hart and Rushmoor with the aim of creating safer communities, reducing crime, and reducing the fear of crime in the area. The Portfolio Holder for Communities and Community Safety, Cllr Simon Bound, represents Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council on the CSP.


The council, working in partnership with the police, county council and community organisations, aims to stop individuals becoming or supporting terrorists by building stronger, safer communities who feel empowered to reject extremism and terrorism in all its forms. This work is called Prevent and is part of the national counter terrorism strategy.

For more information about the Prevent programme, please read the Prevent leaflet.

Contact us

  • Contact us online
  • 01256 844844
  • Civic Offices
    London Road
    RG21 4AH
  • Opening hours
    Monday to Thursday
    8.30am to 5pm
    8.30am to 4.30pm