Community Infrastructure Levy (CIL)

The CIL Regulations 2010 (as amended) enable local authorities to raise funding for infrastructure by levying a charge on new development within their area. The money raised can be used to fund a wide range of infrastructure such as transport, schools, health and social care facilities, parks, green spaces and leisure facilities.

In order to set a levy rate, the local authority must firstly establish that there is an infrastructure ‘funding gap’. Secondly, evidence is required to ensure the rates set are financially viable - they must not put the future development of the area at risk.

The levy is charged in pounds per square metre on the net increase in floorspace. Development will be liable for the community infrastructure levy if it involves:

  • new build of at least 100 sq. m. gross internal area floorspace
  • the creation of one dwelling (even when that is below 100 sqm)

Different rates can be set for different types, scales and locations of development, provided there is appropriate viability evidence for doing so.

The council must set out what infrastructure it intends to spend its CIL receipts on. This is known as a Regulation 123 List.

Preliminary Draft Charging Schedule 2014

The council published a Preliminary Draft Charging Schedule for consultation between 6 January and 17 February 2014. It proposed CIL rates for housing, retail and hotel development. The council received 39 responses to the consultation and these were used to inform the approach taken at the next stage in the process – the Draft Charging Schedule.

Draft Charging Schedule 2014

The Draft Charging Schedule was published for consultation between 7 November and 19 December 2014 and the council received 35 responses. This Draft Charging Schedule has been superseded by the Revised Draft Charging Schedule 2016.

Revised Draft Charging Schedule 2016

Following adoption of the Basingstoke and Deane Local Plan 2011-2029, the council updated its viability evidence and this resulted in some changes to the proposed CIL rates. Based on this updated evidence, the council published a Revised Draft Charging Schedule for consultation between 8 August 2016 and 26 September 2016. The responses are currently being analysed, prior to being submitted for independent examination.

Consultation on Revised Draft Charging Schedule August to September 2016
Submission Spring 2017
Examination Summer 2017
Inspectors Report and Adoption Late Summer 2017
Begin charging Autumn/Winter 2017

Contact details

Planning Policy and Implementation team


Telephone: 01256 845469 or 01256 845750


Help us improve this website

Send us your feedback about this page.

Please answer the question below:
© 2014 – 2016 Basingstoke & Deane Borough Council